Resolutions are the Things Dreams are Made of

So it is 2016 and time to make another resolution for this year, yeah that seems crazy to me. I feel like we have developed this idea that the first of January means we need to become a better or new us by dieting, working out, or stopping bad habits. I am not saying this is a bad thing, but when was the last time you made a resolution where you thought about it more than “Oh it’s January 1st guess I need to start working out again.” I am not saying it is bad to have these resolutions, I am saying that because they have became the cliche answer for resolution I feel like people are not invested in them, leading to them not keeping the resolution for more than a few months. This year I feel like instead of making a better or new me, I would like to find a truer me! That’s right I just want to find out who I am. Since I became a mom I felt like I have been on the back burner, which is fine because children are a lot of work but everyone needs to have some Me Time! I realized that I do not even know who I am when I am not talking about be a mom, I do not know how to answer simple questions like “What do you like to do for fun?” or even basic profile questions about who I am. So this year, 2016, I am going to find the real me! I am turning 25 this month and I feel like I have missed a lot of the events others have in their 20’s so instead of one big resolution I am going to set up a list of 25 things I want to achieve in 2016. The items on my list are not things that are super difficult to do but they are things I have wanted to do for a while and have never let myself do. So here is to truer selves in 2016!

 

Leave a Reply

